top of page

Assignment 11a: Mentorship Write-Up

Player Profile:

My name is Trevor, and I am a Senior at North Forsyth High School and a College Freshman at UNG. I am a Grade 8 Certified Referee for US Youth Soccer, in conjunction with Georgia Soccer, and referee at the highest youth level, Developmental Academy. I am two merit badges away from becoming an Eagle Scout and I am Band Lieutenant in the North Forsyth Raider Marching Band. I choose to intern at Aeon Global Health because my goal in life is to work in the Hereditary Cancer field and to help others live with minimal to no risk for Cancer.

My Mentorship:

Interning at Aeon Global Health has been a blast. I was introduced to my Mentor, Jillian Quiett, in August. Subsequently, I was thrust into the world of pharmacogenetics, a science designed to custom prescribe medicine to patients, and have been observing various protocols since that time. While some of my day to day duties at Aeon include paperwork and finding patient samples, I have recently started to perform my own DNA extractions with supervision. Some of the work is a bit tedious, but I always enter the Lab with a smile and leave with an even bigger one.

My Future:

Next year, I plan on attending UGA to major in Biochemistry, or a comparable degree, and eventually entering the workforce, seeking employment at a lab similar to Aeon Global Health. This internship will give me foreknowledge of the field I seek to work in, and will help me in my future biochemistry studies wherever I may end up.


RECENT POST
bottom of page